north east scotland's festival of new music

Joby Burgess

One of Britain's most diverse percussionists, Joby is best known for his virtuosic, often lissome performances, daring collaborations, extensive education work, and regularly appears throughout the UK, Europe and beyond.

After founding the unique duo New Noise, with oboist Janey Miller in 1999, Joby went on to join Britain's leading percussion quartet, Ensemble Bash, touring extensively with drumming legend Stewart Copeland. In 2005 Joby founded the multimedia collective Powerplant, a collaboration with sound designer Matthew Fairclough and visual artist Kathy Hinde.

Dedicated to the development of the percussion repertoire, often in combination with electronics, Joby spends much of his time commissioning and recording new music. Recent highlights have included premiere performances of works from Gabriel Prokofiev and Graham Fitkin, releases of Steve Reich's Electric Counterpoint on Signum and Peter Maxwell Davies' Ave Maris Stella with Gemini on Metier. Future plans include cinema performances of sound artist Martin Parker's new opera, with vocalist Phil Minton.

Joby regularly performs and broadcasts with many of the UK's leading chamber ensembles, and in 2003/04 was guest principal with the Britten Sinfonia for tours alongside Joanna MacGregor, Andy Sheppard and Nitin Sawhney. He is also a member of Stephen Deazley's Edinburgh based, Music at the Brewhouse and in 2004 was appointed Professor of Percussion and Director of Ensembles at Junior Trinity College of Music. -->

One of Britain's most diverse percussionists, Joby is best known for his work performing new music. He regularly collaborates with artists such as Joanna MacGregor, John Kenny, James Wood, Stewart Copeland, Michael Finnissy, Nitin Sawhney and Sarah Leonard, as well as being a member of Britain's leading percussion quartet ensemblebash.

Joby's own projects explore his passions for virtuosic drumming, movement and electronics; and as a soloist he has made several broadcasts for BBC radio, and given performances across the UK, Europe and the USA. His duo new noise, with oboist Janey Miller, commissions and promotes a challenging new sound, founding it's own record label 'NNL' in 2003; whilst his collective PowerPlant explores hi-octane percussion-led music, with an electronic sound and strong visual performance. Brining together sound designer Matthew Fairclough, the Elysian Quartet and visual artist Kathy Hinde, PowerPlant has recently become artist in residence at FACT, Liverpool, and will perform as part of the Barbican's Steve Reich festival 'Phases' later this year.

Recent highlights have included premieres of 'Zero Degrees' with Akram Khan and Sidi Labi at Sadlers Wells, London; Karen Francis concerto 'The Earth Wakes...' Queens Hall, Edinburgh; and a two-week residency at the VCA culminating in performances as part of the Melbourne Festival, Australia.

Joby has also worked with the London Sinfonietta, Endymion, Composers Ensemble, Ixion, National Theatre Ensemble, Gemini, ECAT Ensemble, Sculpted Sound, Lontano, Brunel Ensemble, Britten Sinfonia, Continuum Ensemble, Nash Ensemble and the BBC Symphony Orchestra.


Other members in The Colin Currie Group: Colin Currie | Tony Bedewi | Richard Benjafield | Adam Clifford | Andrew Cottee | Owen Gunnell | Adrian Spillett | Synergy Vocals | Sam Walton | Rowland Sutherland.


The Graham Fitkin Ensemble are: Simon Haram - soprano/alto saxes +ewi | Nick Moss -sop/alto/tenor saxes + bass clarinet | Noel Langley - trumpets, flugel horn | Adrian Spillett - percussion, vibraphone, drums | Joby Burgess - percussion, marimba, drums | Graham Fitkin - piano | Alan Thomas - guitars, mandolin | Ruth Wall - wire strung, bray and lever harps | John Lunn - bass

events in 2010 with Joby Burgess
  Date Day Time Location Event Details
Please check back for updates.
21Thu 7.30 pmAberdeenGraham Fitkin Ensemble
23Sat 7.30 pmAberdeenColin Currie Group