north east scotland's festival of new music

University of Aberdeen Music Prize Gala Concert

Members of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra will perform the five new pieces specifically written by composers Yuko Ohara, David Elliott, Jonas Valfridsson, May-Kay Yau and Hiroshi Nakamura for the Music Prize. The winner of the prize will be announced by competition judge, James MacMillan, and will receive a £5,000 prize in the form of a commission to write a new piece for the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.


  • Yuko Ohara - Shade <-> Light
  • David Elliott - The Pavilion
  • Jonas Valfridsson - You Live on My Skin
  • May-Kay Yau - Vernarrtheit
  • Hiroshi Nakamura - Lux, mea crux, Crux, mea lux!

Sunday 22 November 2009, 6.30 pm

Cowdray Hall, Schoolhill, Aberdeen

Tickets: Free (limited tickets: advance booking on 01224 273874 or