unbound sound: Red Note Ensemble with Richard Watkins (French Horn)

  • World Premiere Performance
Philip Cashian Scenes from the Life of Viscount MedardoWorld Première
Aileen SweeneyFedaWorld Première
Rylan GleaveUNSUNG II; even from a loved one *World Première

We are delighted to present this programme which was unable to take place during soundfestival 2020 due to Covid restrictions in place at the time.

Scotland's contemporary music ensemble, Red Note, are joined by horn player, Richard Watkins, for the world premiere performance of a reworking of Philip Cashian's Scenes from the Life of Viscount Medardo based on Italo Calvino’s short story The Cloven Viscount.  

The programme also includes a new work by Rylan Gleave UNSUNG II; even from a loved one, the second in a collection of works exploring the same material surrounding, on some level, voicelessness; and Aileen Sweeney's new work Feda which explores the symbolic and important role trees played in Irish and Scottish Celtic culture and traditions as “sustainers of life,” offering food, medicine, warmth and housing as well as forming connections to the spiritual worlds.

These works are co-commissioned by sound and Red Note Ensemble.

* CONTENT WARNING: Audiences should be aware that the piece UNSUNG II by Rylan Gleave contains non-explicit references to sexual violence which some may find uncomfortable.

Advance booking is required. 

No admittance will be permitted on the door without a pre-booked ticket. 

COVID-19 measures will be in place to ensure the safety of our audience members and performers including physical distancing. Please wear a face covering unless you have an exemption. Please do not attend the event if you feel unwell or have any symptoms of Covid-19. 

If you have any queries please contact a member of the sound team. 

By email: info@sound-scotland.co.uk
Or phone 07756 615 327 (Mon-Fri 10am-1pm)

We’re looking forward to welcoming you back to enjoy live new music at sound

Composer interviews