Written in Fire

Singh Quartet and Vessel (electronics)
  • Performance
JanáčekIntimate Letters
Rakhi Singh & VesselWritten in Fire

Singh Quartet
Rakhi Singh (violin), Simmy Singh (violin), Ruth Gibson (viola), Ashok Klouda (cello)

Vessel (electronics)

A collaboration inspired by Janáček’s string quartet Intimate Letters with a memorised performance of the piece followed by the premiere of a new work created by violinist Rakhi Singh and pioneering electronic musician Vessel (Sebastian Gainsborough).

‘The Janáček has a powerful urgency’ says Vessel ‘driven by an obsessive desire that gives it a punk-ish irreverence’.

The combination of acoustic instruments and electronics will scatter sound to all corners of the darkened hall, enveloping us in a contemporary response to a ground-breaking masterpiece.

‘A seamless and evocative mix of modern classical and Tri Angle-style sound design from Vessel and violinist Rakhi Singh.’ Resident Advisor

Find out more:

Rakhi & Vessel talk to Creative Tourist and Kings Place about the project. 

Developed at Snape Maltings and supported by the PRS Foundation's Beyond Borders programme and Arts Council of Wales.