sound new music listening club: Laurence Osborn

  • Online
  • Free event

Our online listening club is held monthly from 7-8pm on a Friday and is a chance to come together regularly to listen to new music and find out more about a selection of contemporary composers.

We will invite a variety of different guest hosts who will explore the music of a new contemporary composer each session. You'll be invited to spend some time listening to one of the composer's works before we meet, but there will also be an opportunity to listen to the work during the session if you don't get around to it beforehand.

Like a book club but with less homework!

For this month's listening club we'll be exploring a piece by Laurence Osborn.  

Biography - Laurence Osborn

Laurence Osborn (b. 1989) is a British composer. Laurence has worked with many of the UK’s leading orchestras and ensembles, including the London Philharmonic Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia, The Riot Ensemble, Manchester Collective, 12 Ensemble, GBSR Duo, and Ensemble 360. Abroad, his music has been programmed by Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Klang, and Agata Zubel. Laurence has a number of ongoing close collaborations with performers, including the Riot Ensemble, harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani, ‘cyborg pianist’ Zubin Kanga, and soprano Sarah Dacey.

© 2024 Rayfield Allied Publishing

Please register in advance by clicking BOOK on the right hand side. After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the session and on the week of the listening club you will receive a link to the piece. 

You can join the session on Zoom via an internet browser on your computer or mobile device or you can phone in on either a mobile or landline to listen using the Dial by your location number. 

Zoom's closed captions feature will be enabled if you require any further information or if you need to contact us about access requirements please email: