Room to Breathe

David Cumming (trumpet), Dominic O'Sullivan (bassoon), Gabriela Jaros (flute) from Nevis Ensemble and iPad Lab (members of Digital Orchestra)
  • World Premiere Performance
  • Free event
Composer: Sonia Allori Artists: Nevis Ensemble and iPad lab

Devised by disabled composer and performer Sonia Allori, this suite of five movements imagines a different ‘room’, each developing an aspect of breath and breathing.

Musicians from Nevis Ensemble will be joined by members of Drake Music Scotland’s Digital Orchestra, the world’s first disabled youth orchestra.

Commissioned by Drake Music Scotland in collaboration with Nevis Ensemble.

1. Rhythm of the Breath
Instrumentation: Sonia Allori, 3 Wind Players (Nevis), iPad Quartet (with Clare Johnston)
Key concept: Rhythm

2. Breathing Out
Instrumentation: Samples of field recordings – Sound Work assembled by Sonia Allori
Key concept/idea: Soundscape & visuals

3. Fear, Hope & Breathing
Instrumentation: Sonia Allori, 3 Wind Players (Nevis), pre-recorded Voice track
Key concept: Exploring Anxiety and emotion – largely scored piece

4. The Well-Tempered Breath
Instrumentation: Sonia Allori – Bass Clarinet with voice recording from Laura Gonzalez

5.Take a Deep Breath

Image: Donald Ellis Ross