Red Note Ensemble

  • Performance
Ailie RobertsonUnfurl* World Première
Edwin Hillier37 Otago Street**World Première
Luke StylesFive Phase Sphere***World Première

Red Note Ensemble 
Ruth Morley, flute
Will White, clarinet
Daniel Pioro, violin
Tom Hankey, viola
Robert Irvine, cello
Iain Crawford, double bass

Ailie Robertson, harp 

William Cole, conductor 

Scotland's contemporary music ensemble, Red Note, perform new music by Ailie Robertson, Edwin Hillier and Luke Styles. 

Ailie Robertson’s Unfurl forms a continuation of her PhD studies into microtonality and the harp, taking inspiration from Erv Wilson’s 1965 organisation of the overtone series as a logarithmic spiral. 

Edwin Hillier’s new work 37 Otago Street is inspired by daily encounter with the ‘ghost sign’ at 37 Otago Street which became a familiar sight on Hillier's daily lockdown walk through Glasgow. 

Luke Styles low trio Five Phase Sphere presents 5 phases of music for viola, cello and double bass. The resonance of these 3 instruments together, their low frequencies and their combined musical potentials are all stimuli for each phase. Across each phase are musical links, but together, as five points of music they form a sphere of material, in the composer’s imagination.

* Co-commissioned by sound, Red Note Ensemble and hcmf//
** Co-commissioned by sound and Red Note Ensemble
*** Co-commissioned by sound, hcmf//, Red Note Ensemble and Ask Duets

This concert will be broadcast by BBC Radio 3 at a later date.