Christopher Redgate (oboe)
  • Performance
TelemannFantasie number 1 in A (TWV 40.2)
BrittenSix Metamorphoses after Ovid for solo oboe
Christopher RedgateSix Improvisations of Change
TelemannFantasie number 6 in D minor (TWV 40:7)

Three themes are intertwined in this programme—classic works written for the instrument, the various voices of the oboe and metamorphosis. The first is the use of classic solo works for the oboe by Britten, his Six Metamorphoses after Ovid and Telemann, two of his solo Fantasies. These works will offer a context for the other themes. 

The oboe is increasingly an instrument with many voices or personalities and this programme will explore some of these ideas; at one end is the ‘folk’ or ‘pastoral’ voice which will be explored through the performance of British folksongs at the other end is the virtuoso voice which will be explored through the improvisations. As the oboe’s voice has been transformed during the latter part of the 20th century so the idea of transformation or metamorphoses will be explored in the Britten and through the improvisations. 

The concert will be introduced by the performer and will include readings of stories from Ovid’s remarkable tales of change and transformation which were the original inspiration for the Britten works. 

Photo credit: Colin Still