Aberdeen Sinfonietta

  • Performance
IbertHommage à Mozart
James DillonFujin for piano solo
BeethovenPiano Concerto No. 4
Marcus BluntAspects of Saturn
MozartSymphony No. 39

Conducted by Garry Walker with Simon Smith (piano)

In Beethoven’s fourth piano concerto, Aberdeen Sinfonietta is joined by the pianist Simon Smith, who has been described in The Scotsman as “a phenomenon – nothing daunts him technically or musically”.  He will also play the Scottish composer James Dillon’s Fujin, written in 2011: the title refers to the Japanese god of the wind.  The other contemporary work in the programme is Marcus Blunt’s beautiful and intriguing Aspects of Saturn. The concert begins with Ibert’s very lively Hommage à Mozart, and ends appropriately with the first of Mozart’s three great final symphonies.