Snorri Sigfús Birgisson - Soundbytes commission

New work for solo lever harp for the Aberdeen Harp Book

To be premiered by Ruth Wall at soundfestival 2016.

The Aberdeen Harp Book was the idea of one of sound’s regular supporters, Alan Carr. Alan is a late-comer to the clarsach, and the Harp Book is a collection of contemporary harp pieces specifically commissioned by sound for amateur harp players. The pieces are around grade 5 standard and are downloadable from the sound website.


The composer and pianist Snorri Sigfús Birgisson (b. April 29th, 1954) commenced his musical studies with Gunnar Sigurgeirsson and then went on to study at the Reykjavík College of Music where his teachers were Hermína Kristjánsson, Jón Nordal, Árni Kristjánsson (piano), and Thorkell Sigurbjörnsson (composition).

He studied piano with Barry Snyder at the Eastman School of Music, U.S.A. (1974-1975) and composition with Finn Mortensen in Norway where he also studied electronic music with Lasse Thoresen and sonology with Thoresen and Olav Anton Thommessen (1975-76). Snorri moved to Amsterdam in 1976 where he studied composition for two years with Ton de Leeuw.

Since 1980 he has been living in Reykjavík, where he is active as a musician and music teacher. He has composed solo works, chamber works, symphonic pieces and choir music. He is a member of the CAPUT- ensemble.

Find out more about Snorri by visiting his website.

Supported By